Senator Ahmed Lawan Emerges Senate President of Nigeria For The 9th National Assembly

Senator Ahmed Lawan who represents the Yobe North senatorial district has emerged as the Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria for the 9th National Assembly.

The senator who is the preferred choice of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC emerged winner after a successful voting session by 107 senator elects present at the 9th National Assembly Inauguration.

Senator Ahmed Lawan polled a total of 79 votes thereby defeating rival Senator Ali Ndume who polled 28 votes to emerge victorious.

He was nominated by senator-elect Yayaha Abdullahi and seconded by Solomon Adeola Olamilekan both of whom are of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, from Kebbi and Lagos States respectively.

Share this post with your Friends on

Don't Forget We Love Comments

Drop a Comment

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.